armyreal.com - Forums

Go Back   ArmyReal.com Forums > Army.com General Discussions > Introduce Yourself
User Name
Password

Old 04-16-2009, 07:01 PM
Recruit

Exclamation Serious questions...

Hello, Im kinda new to the army, only been in for 8 months, but running into some problems and hoping you vets will be able to help myself and my wife out...
My wife is have a real hard time cooping with the PCS to WSMR, NM and has been spending a lot of time at home (not working or going to college). I am getting ready to deploy soon and we have been having some marital problems due to a lot of drama in my unit. She is not happy with where we are and has been having some bad problems with depression over the past few months some to do with me because of the stress I have been going through due to preparing for deployment and some other reasons having to do with past problems she has gone through. I was told that if my wife was having problems with depression that there is a chance to get on the EFMP Program and I want to know if that is true or not...I will do anything for my wife and dont wont her to be having problems but at the same time I want to deploy and Im torn between both right now, my wife trumps all others though. Is there a chance to get on EFMP or are we kinda stuck, I havent been to NTC yet if that helps.

Any advice would be much appriciated,
PFC Boyd

Old 04-16-2009, 08:00 PM
Captain

Being enrolled in EFMP does not exempt you from deployments. It's a program designed to ensure that you get assigned to areas that will provide the medical resources that any of your family members may need for whatever conditions they have. Depending on those conditions, you could be deemed undeployable but keep in mind that to be in those positions can be career suicide.

The only way that your wife can be enrolled in EFMP is if is she is officially diagnosed with a medical condition by a doctor.