armyreal.com - Forums

Go Back   ArmyReal.com Forums > Life in the Military > National Guard
User Name
Password

Old 03-01-2008, 05:09 PM
Recruit

Default This time JAG

Dear Sir/Mam,
I am 41 (42 3-28). I served in the USMCR. I have been a practicing attorney for 5 years and have contacted a National Guard recruiter about joining for JAG. I have a few questions:
1) How will attending Marin Corp basic before affect any required training such as OCS.
2) By going JAG what are chances of getting a waiver if Im not commisioned by 42.
3) I know there are med?physical exemptions for physicians, is there anything similar for JAG. I dont know that Ill need one but just in case.

Thanks. I have more but lets see how the answers to these questions go.

Houston

Old 03-02-2008, 04:23 AM
Lieutenant Colonel

Quote:
Originally Posted by litigator66 View Post
Dear Sir/Mam,
I am 41 (42 3-28). I served in the USMCR. I have been a practicing attorney for 5 years and have contacted a National Guard recruiter about joining for JAG. I have a few questions:
1) How will attending Marin Corp basic before affect any required training such as OCS.
2) By going JAG what are chances of getting a waiver if Im not commisioned by 42.
3) I know there are med?physical exemptions for physicians, is there anything similar for JAG. I dont know that Ill need one but just in case.

Houston
Marine Corps boot camp has nothing to do with Army OCS. You'll have to attend.

I don't know what your chances are of getting a waiver for commission at your age, I've never heard of it, however, the National Guard does some weird and different things and has some fairly relaxed standards so they can pull more strings than RA.