armyreal.com - Forums

Go Back   ArmyReal.com Forums > Military Discussions > Military Hardware, Gear and Technology
User Name
Password

Old 04-18-2009, 02:43 PM
Recruit

Thumbs up A question about the proper handling of hand grenades:

Hi Soldiers.
this is my first post here and I have what I consider to be a very strange question for any and all soldiers from any and all branches of service that are willing to indulge me with your personal opinions based on actual training you have received while serving our great country.

Let me explain myself further so you understand where I'm coming from. I am and always have been a civilian, so I have no first hand knowledge at all regarding the training methods and procedures offered by the military in the area of training our people in combat field practices. I do have a brother who was a Drill Sergeant during the vietnam era and have asked him this question also. He says the guy is either a poser or a section 8, and I agree with him. But this guy claims my brother is imaginary and refuses to accept any second hand info at all as my own fiction. I want a true and honest answer to this question from as many soldiers from as many branches of service, of as many ranks as possible. So please, if you were a sergeant and a Captain has answered me, don't feel that agreeing with him is being redundant. I want opinions from the perspective of as many of you as possible based on your personal experience in the field.

Here's my specific and detailed issue. I have been on a debate on another forum where a guy who claims to have served in the military insists that he has used a hand grenade as a hammer in the field dozens of times, and was trained to do this as a practice in order to for example, set booby traps or IEDs while in the field. Here are direct quotes of his statements:
Posted by daewoo:
Or that we are "intelligent" people capable of exhibiting meaningful "logic".