armyreal.com - Forums

Go Back   ArmyReal.com Forums > Army.com General Discussions > Current Events
User Name
Password

Old 05-16-2009, 08:28 PM
Sergeant

Send a message via AIM to lilyOhio
Default mental health in the military

i have been reading a lot about mental health in the military lately and as i am planing on enlisting this kind of concerns me. i know it is not a new thing, and has just been brought to the public's attention because of the shooting of the soldiers at camp liberty in iraq(odd how that works...) , but it has me thinking.

here is a recent article i just read: [url]http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/30782778//[/url]

it mentions that mental issues have become a serious problem with soldiers facing multiple deployments. now, this is where i am a little confused, and it may be because i'm fairly new to the military and am still an outsider, but wouldn't you want to increase the number of troops being trained and have a larger military so soldiers can have more r&r between deployments, and even fewer deployments? i have been reading on this site that the military is tightening its requirements because there are too many soldiers enlisting. somehow this doesn't make sense to me. i understand this is a complex problem with no easy solution, but i think more can be done.

any thoughts?

Old 05-17-2009, 07:43 AM
General of the Armies