armyreal.com - Forums

Go Back   ArmyReal.com Forums > Army.com General Discussions > Introduce Yourself
User Name
Password

Old 02-19-2009, 02:28 PM
Recruit

Default Soldier Mom ???

Hi, I am a proud Soldier Mom, my son started boot camp 9-11-08 and is currently at his work station. Rumor has Fort Lewis is being deployed soon. Does anyone know what you can and or can not send to our soldiers when they are over seas? Is there a website to access with this information? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Old 02-19-2009, 02:33 PM
Corporal

There is an organization called Hugs4smilesusa.org if you go to thier site and look under "packages" there is a list of prohibited items. I assume the list applies to all branches of the Military, and not just that specific organization. I hope this helps.

Old 02-19-2009, 02:37 PM
Recruit

Thank you very much!

Old 02-19-2009, 03:00 PM
Corporal

Your welcome. I also found a couple more sites for info.

[url]http://www.usps.com/supportingourtroops/mailingrestrictions.htm[/url]
[url]http://ortiz.house.gov/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=140&Item id=[/url]

Military OneSource is a 24-hour, 7-days-a-week, toll-free information and referral telephone service 1-800-342-9647 available worldwide to active duty, Reserve, and National Guard military members and their families; and to deployed civilians and their families. Military OneSource provides information ranging from everyday concerns to deployment-related issues. Also, if there is a need for face-to-face counseling, Military OneSource can provide a referral for six sessions per issue to professional civilian counselors at no cost to the service member or family member (please note in-person counseling is only available in the United States and Puerto Rico). Overseas, Military OneSource can help access the existing services provided through the Medical Treatment Facilities.

Old 02-19-2009, 07:28 PM
Brigadier General