armyreal.com - Forums

Go Back   ArmyReal.com Forums > Life in the Military > Mobilization & Deployment
User Name
Password

Old 04-29-2008, 07:57 PM
Corporal

Default Camp Casey

So without saying too much about deployment, can anyone give info on Camp Casey? Chances of going to Iraq from there? Should I be worried about the "nightlife"?

Old 04-30-2008, 06:46 PM
Corporal

Anybody? Ideas?

Old 05-01-2008, 02:57 PM
Brigadier General

It's a well-known fact that Camp Casey is in S. Korea so I'm not breaking OPSEC.. I doubt very much he'll deploy to a combat area from there. After his tour & after he's back to his home station for a while might be a different matter, though.
Retired MSG
I was a Soldier. I am a Soldier. I will always be a Soldier.

Old 05-01-2008, 03:31 PM
Corporal

Yeah I think he really lucked out, well its not luck, there has been alot of praying going on. I did find out that he might be able to extend his tour there to 3 years which would be most of his requirement. Supposedly it is a pretty good place to go, his recruiter said its a WEstern vacation spot but that means there is alot of wild nightlife. Which my son will like but his wife and his mom(me) wont' like one bit. I can't seem to find out if his wife will be able to accompany him or not?

Old 01-11-2009, 05:49 PM
Recruit

Default I don't know about now....

I was there at Camp Casey from 1979-1983 (I kept extending my tour) At that time the 2nd Infantry Div was there, now it is to my understanding, that it's no longer there. It used to be a "Hardship tour" and after completing a hardship tour, you must go back stateside for a tour before deploying, unless you apply for an "Inter Theater" transfer, which is totally you option. Like I said, this was the case back in 1979

Old 01-11-2009, 05:59 PM
Captain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kentuckymom View Post