armyreal.com - Forums

Go Back   ArmyReal.com Forums > Life in the Military > Enlistment Information
User Name
Password

Old 02-16-2009, 09:27 PM
Sergeant

Default Another Guy with questions

Hello

I've been considering joining the military for a while now, im currently in my second semester of college out of 4 semesters for auto body, is now the time i should be starting this process or should i be waiting? my thoughts were this would give me more time to prepare, especially physically, although im in good shape i've never been the athletic type i was always the guy messing with cars and fixing buddys cars and as of right now i dont think i could even get thru the pt test let alone pass it. But im willing to work towards that goal.

But i have some questions i want answered now, as i know recruiters have a reputation for telling you what you want to hear, to get you to join.

#1 I know theres a bonus for having college credits but is there any kind of rank increase, i was told by someone that if i had a certain number of college credits i would start out as a E2 or E3, ill have 82 credits when done with school but it will be a certificate not a degree.

#2 Can i choose a MOS before basic, I want to be a mechanic or something i can relate to my college major in some way, im not limiting to just wheeled equipment either, so i know there's a number of choices there. But i dont want to get thru basic and be told im getting trained as a cook.

#3 right now my vision is a -8.0 which is the brink of the military's vision requirement, if my vision would get worse later would that be grounds for dismissal and is there a waiting period if i get lasik before i enlist or just before i go to basic?

#4 Is there any way i could go to basic during my summer break and then return to finish my last two semsters?

#5 do you come home after your mos training before your first assignment?

Thank you for your help